Packing for the Long Haul

Essential clothing items to help you avoid overpacking

Sherry Howard Salois
5 min readFeb 29, 2024
Image by Peggy and Marco Lachmann-Anke from Pixabay

When I finally made my dream trip to the United Kingdom and Ireland a few years ago, I had a tough time deciding what to include in my suitcase. Because the trip took me from London to Bath, Cardiff, Waterford, Dublin, through Belfast, and onto Edinburgh, down to York and Stratford before bringing me back to London, I needed a lot of stuff, including clothes. I confess: I overpacked. I regretted that when I had to lug my heavy suitcase through the airport and beyond.

While I won’t be city-hopping like that again, I am going back as soon as I can. This time, I’m thinking carefully about what to pack. Here are some specific and general items on my short list.

Shoes

Let’s start with shoes because they are bulky and take up precious space. I took two pairs of shoes with me on the trip, but I mainly wore this pair of Skechers Boat Shoes:

Yes, I know people think Skechers are “old lady shoes,” and my feet would like to weigh in on that. You do what you want to your feet, but I want my feet to last the rest of my life. These shoes held up for the duration of the trip, which included lots and lots of walking, and beyond. Plus, they didn’t look too bad and went with pretty much everything. My other pair of shoes were light sandals to be worn within the hotel and on short jaunts.

The key is to find something that will keep you comfortable while you’re on your feet most of the time but still have an appearance you find tolerable. When I went to Canada, I wore my Chucks. Chucks are cute, but I realized I did not want to stomp around the UK with a pair of boards strapped to my feet. I came home from Canada with some very sore calves and shins. I came home from the UK with happy feet.

Tops

Merino wool is a miracle fabric for travelers. Not only is it lightweight and breathable, but it also features moisture-wicking properties and odor resistance. Clothing made from merino wool, such as T-shirts and sweaters (and socks!), can be worn multiple times between washes, making them perfect for extended trips or even backpacking adventures. Merino wool garments are also known for their ability to regulate body temperature, keeping you comfortable in a variety of climates.

One of my favorite clothing items — on the road and at home — is this shirt from Eddie Bauer I found on Amazon:

Mine is lavender, but I’m not seeing that my color is available any more. I have my eye on the chambray blue one, though. This shirt is moisture wicking plus includes UPF 50 sun protection. It’s very versatile, too. I can wear it alone, sleeves rolled up or down, or I can layer it and wear it like a light jacket. It’s very lightweight and comfortable, too. I washed it in the sink on a trip to DC, hung it up, and it was dry by morning.

Layering is essential in travel wear. Even in summer, I include one long sleeve T-shirt along with my short sleeve T-shirts for layering. I will also include a lightweight sweater and, of course, my faux pashmina scarf I’ve written about before.

Bottoms

You don’t have to wear the zip-off travel pants that seem to be universally ridiculed lately (although if you want to wear them, just do it. Who cares?). Pants made for travel can be quite sharp-looking these days. A quick search on Amazon will return some terrific options.

I found my favorite pair at Sam’s Club:

I have them in a couple of colors. As you can see on one leg, they can be cinched at the ankle or worn straight. Sometimes I cinch them below my knee and fold the legs over to make them into capris when the weather turns warmer. They can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion. They are extremely comfortable on a long flight, too. They’re soft, light, and stay cool against the skin. They’re also quite flattering, and I get a lot of compliments on them! The pockets come in handy, as well.

I love my jeans, but any traveler will tell you jeans are space hogs. I typically take only one pair when I travel, and I prefer a lighter weight to minimize the space they take up. I often take black jeans on the road so I can dress them up a little if needed. I know skinny jeans are controversial these days, but I don’t care. I love my Democracy “Ab” Solution jeans. These are super comfortable and flattering and provide some shaping.

Some additional thoughts

Lightweight dresses and skirts are always good choices for packing smarter. A dress can be styled as a skirt by adding a top over it. Skirts can be worn with a nice T-shirt. Choosing neutral colors that can be mixed and matched allows you to create multiple outfit combinations without overpacking.

Packable jackets and outerwear are must-have items. Look for options that can be compressed into a small pouch for easy storage.

Wrinkle resistance is a terrific feature to consider when choosing clothes for a trip. Who wants to spend time ironing on vacation? For those inevitable wrinkles, there’s always the travel-sized bottle of Downy Wrinkle Releaser. Don’t forget the lint brush or packing cubes, either!

The takeaway

Packing efficiently is an essential skill for any traveler, and choosing the right clothing items can make all the difference. Packing smarter and lighter, without sacrificing style or comfort, makes navigating the airport and moving from hotel to hotel so much easier. With these essential clothing options in your suitcase, you’ll be well-prepared for any adventure that comes your way.

--

--

Sherry Howard Salois

Writing coach, writer, copyeditor, course designer, college English and history instructor, mom, cat servant, and managing partner at TipoftheWriteberg.com